Teaching Modules

Course Description
& Student Works

MERGED REALITIES

Eine Serie von retuschierten und bearbeiteten Fotografien, basierend auf dem Transfer optischer Merkmale von 3D-Computergrafiken auf das fotografische Bild. In einem ersten Teil des Kurses sammelten die Studierenden eine Vielzahl aktueller und historischer Bildbeispiele aus dem Bereich der 3D-Computergrafik, so zum Beispiel Bildschirmaufnahmen von 3D-Videospielen, 3D-Illustrationen oder…
Course Description
& Student Works

OBJETS TROUVÉS - PROJECTS

Eine Reihe von ausgewählten Alltagsgegenständen, neu interpretiert und zu utopischen architektonischen Entwürfen transformiert. Aufbauend auf dem Modul Objets Trouvés, in dem Alltagsgegenstände mittels Bildmontage grossmässtäblich in verschiedene Bildkontexte eingefügt wurden, galt es bei dieser weiterführenden Kursarbeit, die so neu kontextualisierten Objekte zu utopischen, architektonischen…
Course Description
& Student Works

CUT-UPS

Eine Reihe von perspektivischen und illusorischen Bildkompositionen basierend auf der Neuanordnung vorgefundener, raumabbildender Fotografiefragmenten. Der Schwerpunkt dieser praktischen Kursarbeit bildete das Arbeiten mit experimentellen und bildlichen Kompositionstechniken. Das Hauptinteresse lag auf dem bildlichen Zusammenbringen und Neuarrangieren von vermeintlich Unvereinbarem. Nach einer…
Course Description
& Student Works

CINEMATOGRAPHY SCENES

Eine Serie von gebauten Modellszenen und ihren fotografischen Abbildern auf Grundlage der visuellen und stilistischen Bildeigenschaften ausgewählter, prägnanter Filmbeispielen. In einem ersten Teil des Kurses untersuchten die Studierenden prägnante visuelle Ästhetiken ausgewählter Filmbeispiele. Es galt die stilistischen Eigenschaften und bildkompositorischen Merkmale festzuhalten und die…
Course Description
& Student Works

PAINTINGS - ANALOGUE (RE)CONSTRUCTION

Eine Serie ausgewählter Gemälde, rekonstruiert anhand dreidimensionaler, physischer Modelle und deren Wiedergabe als fotografisches Bild. Ausgangspunkt der praktischen Arbeit bildete eine Auswahl bekannter Gemälde aus dem letzten Jahrhundert – aus unterschiedlichen Stilrichtungen. Das verbindende Merkmal der ausgewählten Gemälde stellte die bildliche Wiedergabe eines gebauten Kontextes dar – sei…
Course Description
& Student Works

PAINTINGS - VIRTUAL (RE)CONSTRUCTION

Eine Serie ausgewählter Gemälde, rekonstruiert anhand von virtuellen 3D-Modellen und deren Wiedergabe als Computerrendering. Nach einer Einführung in das 3D-Modellier- und Renderingprogramm Cinema 4D wurden die Studierenden gebeten, eine Serie nicht fotorealistischer Bilder zu entwickeln, die in ihrer Ästhetik und ihrem Stil mehr den Merkmalen der Malerei zugewandt sind. Hierzu diente als…
Course Description
& Student Works

COMPOSITION SERIES

Eine Serie von zweidimensionalen, geometrischen Kompositionsfiguren und ihre sukzessive Überführung in einen dreidimensionalen Bildkontext. Nach einer Einführung in digitale Bildbearbeitungstechniken und dem Vermitteln von bildkompositorischen Strategien, wurden die Studierenden in einem ersten Teil der Kursarbeit gebeten, zweidimensionale, abstrakte Kunstwerke zu untersuchen. Es galt eine Reihe…
Course Description
& Student Works

COMPOUNDS - WORD AND IMAGE

Eine Reihe von neu zusammengesetzten, fiktiven Wort-Komposita, und ihre Interpretation und Übersetzung in die bildliche Darstellung. Wahrnehmung, Kreativität und Vorstellungskraft sind wichtige Grundpfeiler und Ausgangspunkte jeder entwerferischen und gestalterischen Tätigkeit. Kreativität entsteht nicht aus dem Nichts. Sie braucht eine Spielwiese und ein Gefäss von Bausteinen, aus denen sie…
Course Description
& Student Works

CONVERTED OBJECTS

Eine Reihe von Alltagsobjekten, anhand von Gegensatzbegriffen (Antonyme) neu interpretiert und deren Übersetzung ins Bild. Der Schwerpunkt dieser praktischen Kursarbeit bildete die Arbeit mit experimentellen Gestaltungstechniken und dem spielerischen Einsatz der Sprache, die hier als Entwurfs- und Imaginationsvehikel eingesetzt werden sollte. Ausgangspunkt war eine Auswahl von verschiedenen…
Course Description
& Student Works

FILM STILLS - 3D RECONSTRUCTION

Eine Reihe ausgewählter Standbilder aus dem Bereich der Cinematographie, rekonstruiert in einer 3D-Szene und deren Wiedergabe als Bild mittels Computerrendering. Nach einer Einführung in die 3D-Grafiksoftware Cinema 4D, wurden den Studierenden verschiedene Standbilder aus Filmbeispielen präsentiert, die es in einer 3D-Szene detailgetreu nachzubilden galt. Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten lag auf der…
Course Description
& Student Works

OBJETS TROUVÉS

Eine Serie von aus ihrem gewohnten Kontext entnommenen Alltagsgegenständen und ihre bildliche Neueinbettung in einen großmassstäblichen, urbanen wie auch landschaftsbezogenen Bildzusammenhang. Im praktischen Teil des Kurses wurden die Studierenden gebeten, eine persönliche Kollektion von formal interessanten Alltagsgegenständen zusammenzustellen und diese in der Folge fotografisch festzuhalten.
Course Description
& Student Works

SCHÖNE NEUE SCHWEIZ

Eine Reihe bekannter Schweizer Ortsbilder und ihre provokative bildliche Nachverdichtung mittels Bildmontage. Die unter dem Namen «Schöne neue Schweiz» zusammengefasste Arbeit war Thema eines 4-tägigen Seminars am Institut der Hochschule für Technik in Zürich im Jahre 2011. Es galt, anhand der Fotografie und mittels nachtäglicher Montage, Bildvisionen zu entwickeln, welche denkmal-geschützte…
Course Description
& Student Works

TRANSPOSE

Eine Untersuchung zweidimensionaler, abstrakter Kunstwerke und ihre dreidimensionale Interpretation anhand analoger Modelle und raumabbildenden Darstellungen. Ausgangspunkt der praktischen Arbeit bildete eine Auswahl bekannter, abstrakter Kunstwerke aus dem Bereich der Konkreten Kunst, wie auch der Farbfeldmalerei (Color Field Painting) und dem Hard Edge Painting. Das verbindende Merkmal der…
Course Description
& Student Works

TYPEWRITTEN DRAWINGS

Eine Serie von computergezeichneten Texturen und Mustern, parametrisch beschrieben und programmiert, anhand der Programmiersprache Processing. Schwerpunkt dieser Kursarbeit lag auf der Programmierung und Generierung grafischer Texturen und Muster anhand der Programmiersprache Processing. Nach der Kurzeinführung in die Grundlagen des Programmierens und der Vermittlung des Konzeptes des…
Course Description
& Student Works

VIRTUAL ARTIFACTS

Eine Reihe von fiktiven 3D-Assemblagen, beruhend auf dem freien Arrangement vorgefundener 3D-Bibliothekskomponenten. Die fortlaufende digitale Erfassung und Repräsentation unserer Umwelt schafft eine immer grössere Menge an einzelnen Informations- und Bildbausteinen, die mittlerweile frei zugänglich und prozessierbar sind. Waren es früher primär analoge Gestaltungsmaterialien, mit deren Hilfe…
Course Description
& Student Works

BODIES

Eine Serie vordefinierter, dreidimensionaler Grundkörper mit ihrer bildlichen Darstellung anhand verschiedener ausgewählter Bildsprachenansätzen. In einem ersten Teil des Kurses wurden verschiedene Bildsprachenbeispiele aus dem Bereich der Malerei, Grafik, Film und der Fotografie vorgestellt und ihre kompositorischen Bildansätze festgehalten. Es galt die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse mittels Modellba…
Teaching Module
Documentation

ASSEMBLED SCULPTURES

Eine Serie abstrakter Skulpturen, beruhend auf der freien Komposition und Assemblage vorgefundener Objekte und ihre nachfolgende bildliche Einbettung in einen grafischen wie auch großmaßstäblichen, fotografischen Kontext. Im praktischen Teil des Kurses wurden die Studierenden gebeten, verschiedene abstrakte Skulpturen aus vorgefundenen Objekten zu erstellen – eine Collage plastischer Objekte nach…
Teaching Module
Documentation

ARCHITECTURAL CAPRICCIOS

Eine Reihe imaginärer, architektonisch anmutender Figuren, beruhend auf dem freien Arrangement vorgefundener 3D-Bibliothekskomponenten. Die vorliegende Kursarbeit nahm sich thematisch der traditionellen Bildgattung wie dem Architektur-Capriccio an, dies jedoch unter Einbezug neuerer, digitaler Bildverfahren und der Verwendung von material-ungebundenen Gestaltungsbausteinen (3D-Komponenten), die…
Teaching Module
Documentation

3D STILL LIFES

Eine Reihe von computergerechneten 3D-Stillleben, beruhend auf der freien Komposition von Flächen-, Volumen- und vorgefundenen 3D-Modellobjekten. Nach einer Einführung in das 3D-Modellier- und Renderingprogramm von Cinema 4D wurden die Studierenden gebeten eine stringente Bildserie von abstrakten, flächigen bis hin zu gegenständlichen, räumlichen Bildkompositionen zu entwickeln. Der Entwurf, die…

Teaching Modules

Teaching Module
Documentation

Merged Realities

A series of retouched and edited photographs, based on transferring the visual characteristics of 3D computer graphics to the photographic image. In the first part of the course, the students collected a multitude of current and historical example images from the field of 3D computer graphics, such as screenshots of 3D video games, 3D illustrations or computer-generated 3D visualisations. The…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Objets Trouvés - Projects

A series of selected everyday objects, reinterpreted and transformed into utopian architectural designs. Continuing on from the Objets Trouvés module, in which everyday items were inserted into various large-scale visual contexts by means of montage, the aim of this advanced coursework was to articulate these recontextualised objects in utopian architectural project designs. After initially…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Cut-Ups

A series of perspectival and illusory visual compositions, based on the rearrangement of found, space-depicting photography fragments. This practical coursework was primarily about working with experimental and visual composition techniques. The main interest was in visually bringing together and rearranging the supposedly incompatible. After an introduction to digital image processing and…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Cinematography Scenes

A series of built model scenes and their photographic reproduction, based on the visual and stylistic characteristics of selected film stills. In the first part of the course, the students examined the visual aesthetics of selected film stills. The aim was to note the stylistic attributes and visual composition elements, and to subsequently transfer the gained insights to a series of newly…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Paintings - Analogue (Re)Construction

A series of selected paintings, reconstructed using three-dimensional physical models, and their reproduction as photographic images. The starting point for the practical work was a selection of well-known paintings from the last century, in different styles. The unifying feature of the selected paintings was visual reproduction of a built context: a view of an urban space or single building, or…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Paintings - Virtual (Re)Construction

A series of selected paintings, reconstructed using virtual 3D models, and their depiction by means of computer-generated renderings. After an introduction to Cinema 4D, a 3D modelling and rendering program, the students were asked to develop a series of non-photorealistic images, the aesthetics and style of which were to lean more towards the characteristics of painting. To this end, a selection…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Composition Series

A series of two-dimensional geometric compositional figures and their subsequent gradual transfer to a three-dimensional visual context. After an introduction to digital image-processing techniques and the teaching of visual composition strategies, the students were asked to examine two-dimensional abstract artworks in the first part of the coursework. The task was to note several approaches to…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Compounds - Word and Image

A series of newly pieced-together fictitious compound words, interpreted and translated into pictorial representations. Perception, creativity and imagination are important cornerstones and starting points for any design-oriented or artistic activity. Creativity does not come out of thin air. It needs a playing field and a container of building blocks, from which to derive, rearrange and compose…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Converted Objects

A series of everyday objects, reinterpreted on the basis of antonyms and translated into images. This practical coursework focused on working with experimental design techniques and playfully using language, which was to be utilised here as a vehicle for conception and imagination. The starting point was a selection of various everyday objects, furnishings and architectural elements. Their…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Film Stills - 3D Reconstruction

A series of selected still images from the field of cinematography, reconstructed in a 3D scene and reproduced as an image by means of computer-generated rendering. After an introduction to the 3D graphics program Cinema 4D, the students were presented with various film stills that had to be accurately recreated in detail, in a 3D scene. The focus of the work was on analysing the images’…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Objets Trouvés

A series of everyday objects taken out of their usual context and visually re-embedded in a pictorial large-scale (natural or built) environment. In the practical part of the course, the students were asked to put together a personal collection of everyday objects with interesting forms and to subsequently capture them photographically. Once photographed, the objects were detached from their…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Schöne Neue Schweiz

A series of well-known Swiss village views and their subsequent provocative visual redensification by means of montage. The work summarised under the title “Beautiful New Switzerland” was the subject of a 4-day seminar in 2011 at Hochschule für Technik in Zurich (HSZ-T). The task was to develop pictorial visions using photography and subsequent montage, in an attempt to visually condense…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Transpose

An examination of two-dimensional abstract artworks and their three-dimensional interpretation, using analogue models, as well as image-based spatial representations. The starting point for the practical work was a selection of well-known abstract artworks from the fields of concrete art, colour-field painting and hard-edge painting. The unifying feature of the selected paintings was the more or…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Typewritten Drawings

A series of computer-drawn textures and patterns, parametrically described and programmed using the programming language Processing. This coursework focused on programming and generating graphic textures and patterns using the programming language Processing. After a brief introduction to the basics of coding and the concept of parametric design, the intention was to show the students a practical…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Virtual Artifacts

A series of fictitious 3D assemblages, based on free arrangement of found 3D library components. The ongoing digital capture and representation of our environment is creating an ever-increasing quantity of individual information blocks and image components, which have become freely accessible and processable. In the past, sketches, collages, paintings and sculptures were primarily created with…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Bodies

A series of predefined basic three-dimensional bodies and their image-based representation using various selected approaches based on visual language. In the first part of the course, various examples of visual language from the fields of painting, graphics, film and photography were presented, and their respective visual-language-based approaches and compositional features were noted. The aim…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Assembled Sculptures

A series of abstract sculptures based on free composition and assemblage of found objects and their subsequent visual embedding in graphic and large-scale photographic contexts. In the practical part of the course, the students were asked to create various abstract sculptures from found objects: a freely composed collage of sculptural objects. For visual reproduction of these three-dimensional…
Teaching Module
Documentation

Architectural Capriccios

A series of imaginary architectural figures, based on free arrangement of found 3D library components. This coursework thematised the traditional pictorial genre of the architectural capriccio, but did so by incorporating newer digital visual processes and using material-independent resource elements (3D components) that can be isolated, distorted, textured and recombined at will. After an…
Teaching Module
Documentation

3D Still Lifes

A series of computer-calculated 3D still lifes, based on free composition of surfaces, volumes and found 3D-model objects. After an introduction to the 3D modelling and rendering program Cinema 4D, the students were asked to develop a stringent series of images, ranging from abstract planar visual compositions to representational three-dimensional ones. Conception, development and image…