• Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
  • Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
  • Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
  • Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 29.10.2017
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 10.5.2020
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
  • Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
  • Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
  • Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing

Beschreibung

Nicht nur unsere Arbeit tragen wir auf unseren Notebook mit, auch Privates bannen wir laufend auf unsere Festplatten - ein Potpourri von Erinnerungsstücken, Nützlichem, Aufgestöbertem und Recherchiertem lagert auf unserem Rechner. Der Computer ist eine Art Tagebuch geworden, der einen Teil unseres Seins fortlaufend und zuverlässig aufzeichnet. Bewusst oder unbewusst - dokumentieren wir uns fortlaufend selbst, und dies in einer Menge, die immer unübersichtlicher und vermehrt nur fragmentarisch und punktuell erschlossen werden kann. Doch welche anderen Bezüge lassen sich zu diesem Datengedächtnis schaffen - weniger vertikal, mehr flächig?

Seit 1998 sammle ich Bilder, Fotografien, Grafiken, Pläne, Schemas, Text- und Layoutdokumente in digitaler Form. Für deren Erschliessung setze ich seit 2005 eine Mediendatenbank ein. Jedes mir wichtig oder interessant scheinende Dokument erfasse ich mit dem Programm. Die Dateien werden nach einer mir schlüssig scheinenden Systematik benannt, dann in die Datenbank importiert und anschliessend mit Stichworten versehen. So verfahre ich nun schon seit Jahren. Heute zähle ich über 225’000 Datensätze (Stand 01/2020). Dies alles beansprucht keinen Raum. Anhand von Suchmasken durchdringe ich diese Welt schnell und bequem. Ich finde wonach ich suche. Doch sehe ich am Computer nur aus dem Zusammenhang gegriffene Teilmengen, scharf abgetrennt und aus dem Kontext gelöst. Das Gefühl für Quantität geht verloren und wirft Fragen bezüglich der Qualität der Erfahrbarkeit gegenüber der stetig wachsenden Informationsmenge auf. Ein Versuch:

Die Arbeit DIARY schlägt einen anderen Zugang zum angesammelten Datenmaterial vor und versucht über die optische Wahrnehmung die Gesamtheit der Datenmenge als Bild erfahrbar zu machen. Sämtliche als Bildminiaturen ersichtlichen Datensätze werden an die Oberfläche gebracht und als Bild aufgespannt. Die an Sedimente erinnernden Datenablagerungen folgen der Logik des klassischen Tagebuchs. Die Datensätze sind chronologisch nach Erfassungsdatum auf den jeweilige Zeilen angeordnet.

Im Jahr 2015 wurde die Arbeit "Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015, 135'700 Records" in die Sammlung des Zentrums für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe (ZKM) aufgenommen. Im 2018 erwarb das Centre Pompidou Paris für ihre Sammlung die Arbeit "Diary 27.01.2005 - 29.10.2017, 178'173 Records"

Images & Captions

Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2012
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2016
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2019
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
Contact Sheet: 2’201 Records
Year: 2020
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: November 2015
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 29.10.2017
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: July 2018
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 10.5.2020
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: August 2020
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2012
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2016
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2019
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2020

Writings & Reviews

  • Schaerer, P (2020, August). Das Künstler*innendasein: Philipp Schaerer im Gespräch mit Sabine Rusterholz [on the occasion of the exhibition "Kunststipendien der Stadt Zürich 2020" at the Helmhaus, Zurich]. > URL | > PDF (German. Transcription)

• Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
  • Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
  • Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
  • Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 29.10.2017
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 10.5.2020
  • Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
  • Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
  • Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
  • Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing

Description

Not only do we carry our work with us on our notebooks, we continuously write our private lives onto hard-disks – a potpourri of bits of memories, of useful, discovered and researched items are stored on our computer. It has become a digital diary, continuously and reliably recording a part of our being. We consciously or unconsciously create an on-going documentary about ourselves, with the amount of data growing ever more confusing and incomprehensible, so that we can only access it in a fragmented and punctual manner. But what other relationships can be formed to this data memory – less vertically hierarchical and in a more planar fashion?

I have been collecting images, photographs, graphics, plans, schemata, text and layout documents in digital form since 1998 and have used since 2004 a media database to record them. Every document that I deem important or interesting is collected by means of the software. The data is tagged according to criteria I find coherent as well as intuitive, imported into the database and then labelled with key words. Over the years, I have accumulated over 225’000 data entries (as of 01/2020). All this data does not take up any room. Using search masks I am able to quickly and easily navigate this universe and I find what I am looking for. However, all I can see on the computer are merely subsets taken out of context, clearly separated, only parts of a whole. The sense of quantity is lost and this raises questions as to the quality of sensual perception in the face of the constantly growing amount of information. An attempt at a possible solution:

The work DIARY proposes a different approach to the collected data in that it seeks, by means of the optical senses, to experience the whole of the data volume as a picture. All of the data sets, visible as thumbnails, are displayed on the interface and spread out as pictures. The data records, reminiscent of sediments, follow the logic and conventions of the ordinary diary. The data sets, on their respective lines, are presented chronologically according to the import date.

In 2015, the pictorial work "Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015, 135'700 Records" was acquired by the Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe ZKM. In 2018, the Centre Pompidou integrated "Diary 27.01.2005 - 29.10.2017, 178'173 Records" into its collection.

Images & Captions

Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2012
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2016
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
Contact Sheet: 77’000 Records
Year: 2019
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
Contact Sheet: 2’201 Records
Year: 2020
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 9.6.2015
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: November 2015
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 29.10.2017
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: July 2018
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 10.5.2020
Inkjet Prints, 781 x 1229 mm each
Date: August 2020
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.1.2005 - 5.3.2012
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2012
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 5.3.2012 - 27.3.2016
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2016
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 27.3.2016 - 12.12.2019
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2019
Work Series: Diary
Title: Diary 12.12.2019 - ongoing
Inkjet Print, 781 x 1229 mm
Year: 2020

Writings & Reviews

  • Schaerer, P (2020, August). Das Künstler*innendasein: Philipp Schaerer im Gespräch mit Sabine Rusterholz [on the occasion of the exhibition "Kunststipendien der Stadt Zürich 2020" at the Helmhaus, Zurich]. > URL | > PDF (German. Transcription)