EGLISTRASSE, 2015

  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 1
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 2
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 3
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 4
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 5
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 10
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 12
  • Making-of Schema
  • Eglistrasse No. 1,2,3,4,5

Beschreibung

Computer- und Informationstechnologien prägen mehr und mehr unser Umfeld. Die Grenze zwischen virtuell und real wird zunehmend schwieriger zu ziehen sein. Digitale Informations- und Verarbeitungstechniken konditionieren uns fortlaufend, wie wir unsere Umwelt wahrnehmen, verstehen, strukturieren, transformieren und wie wir uns in dieser ausdrücken. Auch die aus dem Digitalen entsprungenen Ästhetiken und Ausdrucksformen durchdringen unentwegt unsere visuelle Umwelt – nicht nur virtuell, sondern auch mit klarem Abdruck auf unsere physische und analoge Umwelt.

Die vorliegende Arbeit macht sich dies zum Thema. Sie bedient sich des Textur-Mappings - eine aus dem Digitalen entnommene 3D-Rendering Bildprojektionstechnik - und versucht dieses Konzept mit Hilfe eines Bildprojektors und der Fotografie in den physischen Raum zu übersetzen. Für die Herstellung der Bilder sind keinerlei nachträgliche Bildbearbeitungswerkzeuge zum Einsatz gekommen, sondern basieren rein auf Fotoabzügen. Als Fallbeispiel dient eine Serie von Raumfragmenten eines Wohn- und Arbeitsraums an der Eglistrasse in Zürich, die jeweils in der Nacht mit flächigen Bildtexturen ausgeleuchtet und schliesslich abfotografiert wurden. Es ist eine Auseinandersetzung mit Raum und Fläche, der Aufhebung fluchtender Raumlinien und das Schaffen eines „entkräftenden Raumes“, dessen Abbild und Wirkung weder dem Realen noch dem Virtuellen eindeutig zuzuordnen ist.

[Texture Mapping:
Mit dieser Technik aus dem Bereich des 3D-Renderings werden Bildtexturen auf virtuelle 3D-Körper gelegt (gemappt), um so deren Oberflächenbeschaffenheit wie auch deren räumliche Tiefenwirkung zu simulieren.]
 

Images & Captions

Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 1
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 2
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 3
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 4
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 5
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 10
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 12
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Making-of Schema
Diagram
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Eglistrasse No. 1,2,3,4,5
C-Prints, 686 x 933 mm each
Date: June 2015

Eglistrasse. 2015

  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 1
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 2
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 3
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 4
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 5
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 10
  • Title: Eglistrasse No. 12
  • Making-of Schema
  • Eglistrasse No. 1,2,3,4,5

Description

Computer and information technologies are increasingly shaping our environment. It has become ever more difficult to draw a clear line between what is virtual and what is real. Digital information and editing technologies continuously condition us as to how we perceive, understand, structure and transform our environment and how we express ourselves within it. The aesthetics and forms of expressions that have arisen from this digital world keep intermittently penetrating our visual environment, not merely the virtual one, but they also leave a clear footprint on our physical and analogue environment.

The present work focuses on this as its topic. It uses the texture mappings, borrowed from a digital 3D rendering imaging technique, and aims to translate this concept into physical space, using a projector and photography. No subsequent image editing tools have been applied during the creation of the images, they are based solely on photographic prints. A series of spatial fragments from a working and living space at the Eglistrasse in Zurich will serve as a case study. They were illuminated with two-dimensional image textures during the night and subsequently photographed. It is a dialogue with space and surface, the suspension of aligning space lines and the creation of a “devitalizing space“, the representation and effect of which is not unequivocally attributable to either the real or the virtual.

[Texture Mapping:
By means of this technique from the domain of 3D rendering, image textures are stretched (mapped) onto virtual 3D bodies, to thus simulate both their surface conditions as well as their spatial depth effect.]

Images & Captions

Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 1
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 2
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 3
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 4
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 5
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 10
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Title: Eglistrasse No. 12
Technique: Photography
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Making-of Schema
Diagram
Year: 2015
Work Series: Eglistrasse
Eglistrasse No. 1,2,3,4,5
C-Prints, 686 x 933 mm each
Date: June 2015